The Value of an Organization

Frequent readers of my blog here or my Twitter feed (@EricDLussier) know about the Organization I am most passionate about: the Construction Specifications Institute (CSI).  If you are familiar with my ramblings, I know I don’t have to go into details. Should you be reading my blog for the first time, welcome and thank you!  You can revisit some of my former CSI posts here and here.

Why does one join an Organization?  You probably will have your own personal reasons.  Whether it is something you are passionate about, like knitting, gardening or fantasy football. Or it is something that is near and dear to your heart, like Toastmasters or PTA.  You could even need a support system, like Alcoholics Anonymous or your local Church.  All of these outlets have value to you.  Personal gratification, an outlet for your passion, a backbone for your beliefs.  Each Organization holds its own value to the member. 

I’ve spoken here and on multiple channels about CSI and the value that I get from the Organization – the education and certification I have attained, the places I have traveled, the opportunities I have been allowed and probably most importantly, the people I have met and consider my friends.  All of these are of tremendous value to me but without a doubt, the relationships that I have made with these friends is invaluable.  

In any Organization, you tend to get out of it what you put into it.  Don’t just join and attend meetings by sitting in a corner, participate!  Or don’t just join so that you can have an acronym on your business card, contribute! 

Some of the time, we could use a little bit of a push – an incentive – to take the leap. Perhaps this is the incentive you need to find your value:  Join CSI by August 31st and pay only $192 for national dues — a 20% savings.  Go to www.csinet.org/join and select “Join Now”. Click “Sign Up as a New Member” and be sure to enter promotion code CSISummer13 when prompted and click the “Add Discount” button.   Most importantly, find a local chapter to join, where you can attend local education sessions and networking opportunities.  (Chapter dues are not included in this promotional offer).

So if you act soon, not only do you save money, but you start finding your value.

Image

2 thoughts on “The Value of an Organization

  1. I totally agree. Eric. Especially the part about “you tend to get out of it what you put into it”! There is much truth to the phrase “Give and you shall receive”. The more you give with your participation within an organization, the more you will receive from it!

Leave a Reply

